Aghabog GFC
Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Acadh Bog, Co. Mhuineacháin

History and Honours

background / Emmet / chronological history / honours / player of the year winners / past club officers

Brief Background

Aghabog is a small rural parish nestled among the hills of west Co. Monaghan. The club itself was originally affiliated to the GAA in 1890 and continues to form the hub of a vibrant local community.

The club was for a long time viewed as the whipping boys of Monaghan football, a fact that owed more to a limited population than any lack of enthusiasm. While the club floundered in junior football, its supporters ensured that the club maintained its energy and Pairc Emmet was opened in its original guise in 1982.

The club's fortunes were transformed in the early nineties and success in the Dr. Ward Cup (junior league) catapulted the club from the shackles of junior ranks. Success in the Fr. Hackett Cup in 1994 (intermediate league) soon followed and Aghabog took the unprecedented step into senior football. The club has switched between the divisions of Monaghan football since then with its most recent success being the capture of the Dr. Ward Cup in 2008.

The ladies club has been to the fore of football in Co. Monaghan since the game first rose to prominence in the early nineties. The ladies can proudly boast county and provincial championship honours. The club also had a strong presence on both All Ireland winning Monaghan teams helping to establish Aghabog as a stronghold for ladies football.

The club installed a Prunty playing pitch in 1995 and is constantly developing its facilities. The opening of a new clubhouse in 2000 had a wider impact on the local community, providing the area with its first public house.


Robert Emmet

As is traditional among GAA clubs, Aghabog GFC aligned itself to a hero from Ireland’s troubled history, Robert Emmet.

Robert Emmet was born in St. Stephen’s Green, Dublin in 1778 and educated at Trinity College. His strong nationalist sympathies led him to abandon his education there in 1798. He left Ireland in 1800 and travelled to France where he sought French help in a planned uprising in Ireland. He returned to Ireland in 1802 and was to the fore in the uprising that followed in July 1803. Emmet’s march on Dublin Castle ultimately ended in failure and he fled to the safety of the Wicklow Mountains. He returned not long after to be near his beloved Sarah Curran and was captured by the British. Emmet was tried and sentenced to hanging. His impassioned speech from the scaffold of his execution cemented his place as an Irish national hero:

“My lords, you are impatient for the sacrifice. The blood which you seek is not congealed by the artificial terrors which surround your victim; it circulates warm and unruffled through the channels which God created for noble purpose, but which you are now bent to destroy for purposes so grievous that they cry to heaven. Be yet patient! I have but a few more words to say. I am going to go to my cold and silent grave. My lamp of life is nearly extinguished. My race is run. The grave opens to receive me and I sink into its bosom. I have but one request to ask at my departure from this world. It is the charity of its silence. Let no man write my epitaph; for as no man who knows my motives dare now vindicate them, let not prejudice or ignorance asperse them. Let them and me rest in obscurity and peace; and my tomb remain uninscribed and my memory in oblivion until other times and other men can do justice to my character. When my country takes her place among the nations of the earth, then, and not till then let my epitaph be written. I have done."


Chronological history


Recent honours


Aghabog player of the year award winners


Past Club Officers


  • John Gallagher 1956
  • Mickey Croarkin 1968
  • Philip O’Donoghue
  • Paddy Croarkin
  • Seamus McGlone
  • Pat McCaughey
  • Dessie Connolly 1979-1981
  • Paddy Greenan 1982
  • Brian McAdam 1983-1985
  • James Leonard 1986-1988
  • John Connolly 1989-1999
  • Owen McCarron 2000-2004
  • Tony McGorman 2005-2015
  • Damien Murphy 2016-

  • Michael McPhillips 1956-1968
  • Hugh Murphy
  • Oliver Gavan
  • Paddy Greenan
  • Michael Leonard
  • Sean Keelan
  • John Connolly 1979-1988
  • Arthur Kierans 1989-1994
  • Sonya McGorman 1995
  • Paddy Reilly 1996-1998
  • Damien Murphy 1999-2015
  • Liam Kelly 2016-

  • Pat Sreenan
  • Michael Lee
  • Paddy Greenan 1968
  • Brian McAdam 1971-1981
  • Michael Smyth 1982
  • Dessie Connolly 1983-1988
  • John Farmer 1989-1990
  • Andy Mannering 1991-2000
  • John Connolly 2001 -
Honorary Life Presidents

  • Ford McGlone
  • John Gallagher
  • John Greenan
  • Philip O’Donoghue
  • Mickey Croarkin
  • Fr. Michael McGourty
  • Fr. Hugh McCaughey
Honorary Presidents

    • Fr. Peter Kiernan
    • Fr. P.J.Woods
    • Fr. George McCarron
    • Fr. Michael McGourty
    • Fr. Hugh McCaughey
    • Michael McPhillips
    • Eddie Quigley
    • Fr. Corrigan